About Us

Aims and objectives

  • To support stem cell research and encourage scientific exchange within our region
  • To build an active stem cell research community in Australia and New Zealand, and worldwide
  • To provide all interested parties with the opportunity to access information relating to scientific, medical and ethical advances in the broad field of stem cell research. A particular emphasis of The Society will be to communicate this information to the general public.

Our history

Stem cell scientists from Australia and New Zealand established a regional stem cell society during the 2007 International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) Conference, held in Cairns, Australia. Around 40 stem cell scientists from around Australia and New Zealand voted overwhelmingly in favour.

A steering committee of representative scientists throughout Australia and New Zealand consolidated the aims and rules of the society. The ASSCR became an Incorporated Association registered in Victoria, Australia in January 2008.


Below - 2017 Delegates at the joint ASSCR and AGCTS annual meeting in Sydney, Australia.

Delegates at the 2017 ASSCR and AGTCS joint meeting in Sydney, Australia

Meet the 2018 ASSCR Executive Committee

Prof Melissa Little


Theme Director of Cell Biology at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne.

Prof Ed Stanley

Vice President

Head of the Stem Cell Technology Laboratory at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne.

A/Prof Alice Pébay


Australian Research Council Future Fellow, University of Melbourne.

A/Prof Clare Louise Parish


Viertel Senior Medical Research Fellow, Florey Institute, Melbourne.

Dr Kathryn Futrega

Communications Chair

Research Fellow, Queensland University of Technology at the Translational Research Institute, Brisbane.

A/Prof Megan Munsie

Policy, Ethics and Translation Chair

Head of the Education, Ethics, Law & Community Awareness Unit, a position jointly funded by the University of Melbourne and Monash University, Melbourne.

Margret Schuller

Sponsorship and Industry Chair


A/Prof Helen Abud

Conference and Awards Chair

Laboratory head, Department of Anatomy and Developmental Biology, Monash University


Thanks to past (2017) ASSCR Committee Members

Dr Michael Morris

Secretary (2015-2017)

Sesqui Senior Lecturer in Embryonic Stem Cells Physiology, University of Sydney.

A/Prof Mike Doran

Communications Chair (2015-2017)

NHMRC Fellow, Queensland University of Technology at the Translational Research Institute, Brisbane.

A/Prof Robyn Meech

Treasurer (2015-2017)

Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide.